top of page

Our Meetings

 Women for Good Government will resume its in-person meeting at First Unitarian Universalist Church, 4700 Grover Ave., possibly in March 2023.

Go to the Meeting Minutes page to see a list of all WGG's virtual meetings.


Speakers at the Monday, February 6, meeting will be Dr. Jim Henson, who directs the Texas Politics Project at UT-Austin, and Robert Norris, retired Senior Analyst of the Texas Legislative Budget Board. Norris will make a presentation about the Texas budget process. The Zoom meeting will begin at 10 am.

Four candidate forums at the February 3 meeting included candidates for Travis County Sheriff, left, and District Attorney, below.


At WGG’s in-person holiday meeting Monday, December 5, 2022, the Texas House of Representatives honored our President Mary Patrick for having “distinguished herself through her exceptional record of civic engagement in Central Texas.” The Resolution was presented by State Rep. Celia Israel. The Resolution, which is on About Us, also praised WGG members for their work. From left to right in the photo that is also attached are newly elected Rep. Lulu Flores, Rep. Celia Israel, Mary Patrick, Rep. Vikki Goodwin and Rep. Gina Hinojosa.

Above, from left, are Liz Donegan, John Loughran and Sheriff Sally Hernandez. Below, from left, are Jose Garza, Erin Martinzon and DA Margaret Moore.


Royce Brooks, executive director of Annie's List, was speaker at the August 5 WGG meeting, outlining the organization's work to elect women to public office.


Panelists at the February 4, 2019, meeting were, from left, Travis County State Reps. Celia Israel, Gina Hinojosa, Sheryl Cole, Donna Howard and Vikki Goodwin.

Antonio Arellano, interim director of Jolt, the largest Latino progressive organization in Texas, was speaker at the March 2, 2020 meeting.


Forums Jan. 6 included House Dist. 21 candidates, Pritesh Gandhi, left, Shannon Hutcheson and Mike Siegel...


...and Dist. 21 candidates Jennie Lou Leeder, left, and Wendy Davis. Dist. 25 candidate Julie Oliver and a proxy for Heidi Sloan also participated.


Nelson Linder, president of the Austin NAACP, was speaker at WGG's July 1, 2019 meeting.


 Austin attorney Pooja Sethi, president and founder of Immigration for All, discussed immigration issues at WGG’s meeting April 1, 2019. 

Mimi Marziani, director of the Texas Civil Rights Project, was speaker at the November 4 meeting.


Austin City Councilman Greg Casar spoke at WGG's April 2017 meeting about the city's immigration policies and its dedication to fair treatment of immigrant residents, including those who are undocumented.

Austin Mayor Steve Adler was speaker at the October 7, 2019, meeting, focusing on Austin's current efforts to help its homeless population.


Kim Olson, announced Democratic 2020 candidate for the 24th Congressional District, now held by Kenny Marchant, was speaker for the June 2019 meeting. In 2018, she ran for Texas agriculture commissioner, losing by just 5 percentage points.

State Rep. Gina Hinojosa and State Sen. Kirk Watson were speakers at WGG's October 2017 meeting.


Amanda Gnaedinger, left, with Common Cause, and Stephanie Swanson with League of Women Voters of Texas, spoke at the May 2019 meeting, Amanda about on-line  voter registration and Stephanie about upcoming redistricting.


Dr. Henson

Screenshot 2023-01-26 at 11.45.17 AM.png

Mr. Norris.

Meeting Minutes

Mike Collier, announced candidate for Texas lieutenant governor, spoke at WGG's July 2017 meeting.

bottom of page